Best Lawyers 2021 recognizes 74 Bricker & Eckler attorneys

Firm News

A total of 74 attorneys across Bricker & Eckler LLP’s Ohio offices were chosen by their peers for recognition in the 2021 edition of The Best Lawyers in America®.

This year’s ranking includes six newly-listed Bricker attorneys. Additionally, eight Bricker attorneys were designated as “Ones to Watch,” a new category for up and coming lawyers. And seven attorneys have been named 2021 “Lawyers of the Year” for their respective practice areas. (Only one attorney in each category is recognized as the “Lawyer of the Year” in each market.)

Bricker congratulates these honored attorneys, listed by location and practice area:


  • Catherine T. Dunlay (Health Care Law)**
  • Mark E. Evans (Construction Law)
  • David J. Lampe (Education Law)
  • Jeffrey P. McSherry (Commercial Litigation)
  • Jason R. Stuckey (Education Law)
  • Claire M. Turcotte (Health Care Law)


  • Christopher J. Bondra (Tax Law)
  • Christopher T. Furey (Energy Law; Real Estate Law)
  • Glenn S. Krassen (Energy Law; Natural Resources Law; Oil and Gas Law)


  • Elyse H. Akhbari (Environmental Law)*
  • Jerry O. Allen (Litigation and Controversy - Tax; Tax Law)**
  • Laura G. Anthony (Education Law)
  • Catherine M. Ballard (Health Care Law)
  • Amy S. Bartemes (Real Estate Law)
  • Brad Bennett (Employment Law – Management; Labor Law – Management)
  • Sally W. Bloomfield (Energy Law; Water Law)
  • Dylan F. Borchers (Energy Regulatory Law)*
  • Drew H. Campbell (Commercial Litigation; Litigation - Banking and Finance)
  • Kimball H. Carey (Education Law)
  • Robert T. Castor (Banking and Finance Law; Commercial Transactions / UCC Law)
  • William T. Conard II (Public Finance Law)
  • David K. Conrad (Real Estate Law)
  • Justin D. Cook (Tax Law)*
  • Casey L. Cross (Commercial Litigation)
  • Christopher J. Dusseau (Real Estate Law)
  • Price D. Finley (Public Finance Law)
  • Jennifer A. Flint (Education Law)
  • James F. Flynn (Health Care Law)
  • Dane A. Gaschen (Education Law)
  • Susan E. Geary (Education Law)
  • Sylvia Lynn Gillis (Construction Law) (posthumous)
  • Michael K. Gire (Health Care Law)
  • Kara H. Herrnstein (Commercial Litigation)*
  • James J. Hughes III (Commercial Litigation; Environmental Law; Litigation - Environmental)
  • Stephen Intihar (Real Estate Law)**
  • David S. Jackson (Tax Law)
  • Marie-Joëlle C. Khouzam (Employment Law – Management; Labor Law - Management)
  • Matthew R. Koppitch (Corporate Governance and Compliance Law)
  • Quintin F. Lindsmith (Commercial Litigation; Litigation - Insurance)**
  • Robert F. McCarthy (Public Finance Law)
  • Christopher L. McCloskey (Construction Law)
  • Charles H. McCreary, III (Real Estate Law)
  • Frank L. Merrill (Litigation - Environmental)
  • Devin D. Parram (Energy Regulatory Law)*
  • Nicholas A. Pittner (Education Law; Labor Law - Management)
  • Rebecca C. Princehorn (Education Law; Public Finance Law)
  • Nelson M. Reid (Commercial Litigation)
  • Justin W. Ristau (Bankruptcy and Creditor Debtor Rights / Insolvency and Reorganization Law; Litigation - Bankruptcy; Mortgage Banking Foreclosure Law)
  • Jack R. Rosati, Jr. (Construction Law; Litigation - Construction)
  • Kofi A. Semenya (Litigation - Labor and Employment)
  • Anne Marie Sferra (Appellate Practice; Commercial Litigation)
  • Sommer L. Sheely (Commercial Litigation)
  • Douglas L. Shevelow (Construction Law)
  • Diane M. Signoracci (Health Care Law)
  • Christopher N. Slagle (Administrative / Regulatory Law; Government Relations Practice)
  • Bobbie S. Sprader (Litigation - Health Care; Medical Malpractice Law - Defendants)
  • Elisabeth A. Squeglia (Health Care Law)
  • Rachel Lusk Stine (Real Estate Law)
  • Dane Stinson (Energy Law; Energy Regulatory Law)
  • Matthew L. Strayer (Litigation – Construction)
  • Christopher N. Swank (Real Estate Law)
  • Matt W. Warnock (Energy Law; Energy Regulatory Law; Oil and Gas Law)**
  • Sue M. Yount (Education Law)


  • Janet K. Cooper (Education Law)
  • M. Shannon Martin (Economic Development Law; Real Estate Law)
  • Beverly A. Meyer (Education Law)*

*Denotes attorneys receiving Best Lawyers recognition for the first time

**Denotes 2020 “Lawyers of the Year”

Denotes attorneys receiving “Ones to Watch” recognition (new for 2021)


With offices throughout the state, Bricker & Eckler is one of Ohio’s leading law firms. Bricker represents a wide variety of clients, with particular strength in the health care, public sector, financial services and energy industries in Ohio and beyond. The firm has a long history of promoting and supporting diversity and inclusion in an ongoing effort to reflect the communities and clients it serves. Connect with Bricker online by visiting our blogs, TwitterFacebook and LinkedIn


First published in 1983, Best Lawyers (copyright 2017 by Woodward/White, Inc., of Aiken, SC) is universally regarded as the definitive guide to legal excellence and has been regarded as a respected and reliable source of legal referrals. Corporate Counsel magazine called Best Lawyers “the most respected referral list of attorneys in practice.” Attorneys are named to the Best Lawyers list following a peer-review survey of more than 55,000 leading attorneys across the nation who cast nearly 6.7 million votes on the legal abilities of other lawyers in their practice areas. Because Best Lawyers is broadly read and respected, inclusion in the list is considered a significant honor in the profession. Specifically, attorneys honored as “Lawyers of the Year” received particularly high survey ratings for their legal abilities, professionalism and integrity.

Related Attorneys

Media Contact

Subscribe to Receive Updates
Jump to Page

Necessary Cookies

Necessary cookies enable core functionality such as security, network management, and accessibility. You may disable these by changing your browser settings, but this may affect how the website functions.

Analytical Cookies

Analytical cookies help us improve our website by collecting and reporting information on its usage. We access and process information from these cookies at an aggregate level.