Bricker & Eckler attorneys earn Best Lawyers 2017 recognition

Firm News

Columbus, Ohio – A total of 66 attorneys from Bricker & Eckler LLP, representing 47.5  percent of the firm’s lawyers, were chosen by their peers for recognition in this year’s edition of The Best Lawyers in America® 2017 (copyright 2016 by Woodward/White, Inc., of Aiken, SC).

Best Lawyers also named three Bricker attorneys “2017 Lawyer of the Year” in specific areas of practice and in their respective markets. (Only one attorney in each category is recognized as the “Lawyer of the Year” in each market.) Bricker’s 2017 Lawyers of the Year are Richard F. (Dick) Kane for Public Finance Law in Columbus,  Quintin Lindsmith for Litigation - Insurance  in Columbus and, and Claire Turcotte for Health Care Law in Cincinnati. 

For more than three decades, Best Lawyers has been regarded as a respected and reliable source of legal referrals. Attorneys are named to the Best Lawyers list following a peer-review survey of more than 55,000 leading attorneys across the nation who cast nearly 6.7 million votes on the legal abilities of other lawyers in their practice areas. Because Best Lawyers is broadly read and respected, inclusion in the list is considered a significant honor in the profession. Specifically, attorneys honored as “Lawyers of the Year” received particularly high survey ratings for their legal abilities, professionalism and integrity.

Bricker is proud to congratulate these honored attorneys, listed by location and practice area:

Cincinnati –

  • Mark A. Engel (Tax Law)
  • Mark Evans (Construction Law)
  • David J. Lampe (Education Law)
  • Jeffrey P. McSherry (Commercial Litigation)
  • Andrew M. Shott (Commercial Litigation, Litigation - Real Estate, Real Estate Law)
  • Claire M. Turcotte* (Health Care Law)

Cleveland –

  • Christopher M. Ernst (Mass Tort Litigation / Class Actions - Defendants)
  • Glenn S. Krassen (Energy Law, Natural Resources Law, Oil and Gas Law)
  • Thomas J. Onusko (Health Care Law)

Columbus –

  • Jerry O. Allen (Litigation and Controversy - Tax, Tax Law)
  • Laura G. Anthony (Education Law)
  • Maria Armstrong (Administrative / Regulatory Law, Energy Regulatory Law)
  • David G. Baker (Real Estate Law)
  • Catherine M. Ballard (Health Care Law)
  • Sally W. Bloomfield (Energy Law, Water Law)
  • Drew H. Campbell (Commercial Litigation, Litigation - Banking & Finance)
  • Kimball H. Carey (Education Law)
  • Robert Castor (Banking & Finance Law)
  • William T. Conard II (Public Finance Law)
  • David K. Conrad (Real Estate Law)
  • Price D. Finley (Public Finance Law)
  • Jennifer A. Flint (Education Law)
  • James F. Flynn (Health Care Law)
  • Natalie T. Furniss (Commercial Litigation, Litigation – Insurance)
  • John F. Furniss III (Trusts and Estates)
  • Dane A. Gaschen (Education Law)
  • Michael K. Gire (Health Care Law)
  • Craig A. Haddox (Real Estate Law)
  • James J. Hughes (Commercial Litigation, Environmental Law, Litigation - Environmental)
  • Stephen Intihar (Real Estate Law)
  • Kenneth C. Johnson (Bankruptcy and Creditor Debtor Rights / Insolvency and Reorganization Law, Litigation - Bankruptcy)
  • Gordon W. Johnston (Banking and Finance Law, Commercial Finance Law, Commercial Transactions / UCC Law, Equipment Finance Law)
  • Richard F. Kane* (Public Finance Law)
  • Marie-Joëlle C. Khouzam (Employment Law - Management, Labor Law - Management)
  • Quintin F. Lindsmith* (Commercial Litigation, Litigation - Insurance)
  • Richard S. Lovering (Personal Injury Litigation - Defendants)
  • Edward A. Matto (Antitrust Law, Litigation - Antitrust)
  • Charles H. McCreary III (Real Estate Law)
  • Frank L. Merrill (Litigation - Environmental)
  • Karen M. Moore (Litigation - Trusts and Estates, Trusts and Estates)
  • Nicholas Pittner (Education Law, Labor Law – Management)
  • Rebecca C. Princehorn (Education Law, Public Finance Law)
  • Robert C. Rafferty (Trusts and Estates)
  • Justin Ristau (Mortgage Banking Foreclosure Law)
  • Jack Rosati, Jr. (Construction Law, Litigation - Construction)
  • Anne Marie Sferra (Appellate Practice, Commercial Litigation)
  • Sommer Sheely (Commercial Litigation)
  • Douglas Shevelow (Construction Law)
  • Diane M. Signoracci (Health Care Law)
  • Karen D. Smith (Health Care Law)
  • David C. Spialter (Health Care Law)
  • Bobbie S. Sprader (Litigation – Health Care, Medical Malpractice Law - Defendants)
  • Elisabeth A. Squeglia (Health Care Law)
  • Christopher N. Swank (Real Estate Law)
  • Betsy A. Swift (Employment Law - Management, Labor Law - Management)
  • Kurtis A. Tunnell (Government Relations Practice)
  • Matt Warnock (Energy Law, Oil and Gas Law)
  • Thomas C. Washbush (Banking and Finance Law, Corporate Law, Mergers and Acquisitions Law)
  • David M. Whittaker (Bankruptcy and Creditor Debtor Rights / Insolvency and Reorganization Law, Litigation - Bankruptcy)
  • Sue Yount (Education Law)

Dayton –

  • Janet K. Cooper (Education Law)

*Denotes 2017 “Lawyer of the Year” recognition


Located in Columbus, Cleveland, Cincinnati, Dayton, Marietta and Barnesville, Bricker & Eckler is one of Ohio’s leading law firms. Bricker represents a wide variety of clients, including businesses and corporations, nonprofit organizations, governmental agencies, health care entities, school districts, municipalities, banks and insurers. The firm has a long history of promoting and supporting diversity and inclusion in our ongoing effort to reflect the communities and clients that we serve. Connect with us online by visiting our blogs, TwitterFacebook and LinkedIn.


First published in 1983, Best Lawyers is universally regarded as the definitive guide to legal excellence. Corporate Counsel magazine called Best Lawyers “the most respected referral list of attorneys in practice.” Outstanding attorneys are compiled by conducting exhaustive peer-review surveys in which tens of thousands of leading lawyers confidentially evaluate their professional peers. Lawyers listed in Best Lawyers have no say in selecting the practice areas in which they are listed. Attorneys are voted into the named practice area as a result of the votes received from peers. The subspecialties listed after their names are based on information from a variety of sources.

Media Contact

Subscribe to Receive Updates
Jump to Page

Necessary Cookies

Necessary cookies enable core functionality such as security, network management, and accessibility. You may disable these by changing your browser settings, but this may affect how the website functions.

Analytical Cookies

Analytical cookies help us improve our website by collecting and reporting information on its usage. We access and process information from these cookies at an aggregate level.