Bricker Graydon Attorneys Recognized for 2024 “Best Lawyers” Excellence

Firm News

A total of 68 attorneys were chosen by their peers for recognition in the 2024 edition of The Best Lawyers in America®. This year’s ranking includes six newly-listed Bricker Graydon attorneys and 10 attorneys designated as “Ones to Watch,” a category for up-and-coming lawyers. And five attorneys have been named 2024 “Lawyers of the Year” for their respective practice areas. Only one attorney in each category is recognized as “Lawyer of the Year” in each market.

Best Lawyers

Cincinnati, OH

William J. Baechtold (Trusts and Estates)

Thomas A. Breitenbach (Employee Benefits (ERISA) Law)

Robert F. Brown (Corporate Law; Real Estate Law)

Daniel E. Burke (Employment Law - Management; Labor Law - Management; Workers' Compensation Law - Claimants; Workers' Compensation Law - Employers)

Christine A. Buttress (Trusts and Estates)

J. Michael Debbeler (Banking and Finance Law; Bankruptcy and Creditor Debtor Rights/Insolvency and Reorganization Law; Litigation - Banking and Finance; Litigation - Bankruptcy)*

Catherine T. Dunlay (Health Care Law)*

Mark E. Evans (Construction Law)

Daniel C. Heyd (Corporate Law)

Michael A. Hirschfeld (Corporate Law; Mergers and Acquisitions Law)

Benjamin Hyden (Construction Law) NEW

Monica Donath Kohnen (Banking and Finance Law; Corporate Law; Real Estate Law)

David J. Lampe (Education Law)

William J. Liss (Tax Law; Trusts and Estates) NEW

Bradley D. McPeek (Commercial Litigation)

Jeffrey P. McSherry (Commercial Litigation)

Gerald F. O'Connell, Jr. (Banking and Finance Law; Real Estate Law)

Bruce I. Petrie, Jr. (Employment Law - Management; Labor Law - Management)

John B. Pinney (Arbitration; Commercial Litigation; International Arbitration - Commercial; International Arbitration - Governmental; Mediation)*

Daniel E. Reitz (Real Estate Law)

Jeffrey L. Rohr (Banking and Finance Law; Corporate Law)

Robert R. Saelinger (Employee Benefits (ERISA) Law)

Jason R. Stuckey (Litigation - Labor and Employment) NEW

Cleveland, OH

Matthew Gurbach (Commercial Litigation) NEW

Glenn S. Krassen (Energy Law; Natural Resources Law; Oil and Gas Law)

Craig A. Marvinney (Commercial Litigation; Litigation - Insurance; Personal Injury Litigation - Defendants; Product Liability Litigation - Defendants)

Josh Nolan (Education Law)

Catherine Swartz (Municipal Law; Public Finance Law)

Matt W. Warnock (Energy Law; Energy Regulatory Law; Natural Resources Law; Oil and Gas Law)

Columbus, OH

Jerry O. Allen (Litigation and Controversy - Tax; Tax Law)

Laura G. Anthony (Education Law)

Amy S. Bartemes (Real Estate Law)

John Caleb Bell (Economic Development Law) NEW

Brad E. Bennett (Employment Law - Management; Labor Law - Management; Litigation - Labor and Employment)

Sally W. Bloomfield (Energy Law; Water Law)

Melissa Bondy (Education Law) NEW

Dylan F. Borchers (Energy Law; Energy Regulatory Law)

Erin Butcher (Litigation - Labor and Employment) NEW

Drew H. Campbell (Commercial Litigation; Litigation - Banking and Finance)

William T. Conard II (Public Finance Law)

David K. Conrad (Real Estate Law)

Justin D. Cook (Tax Law)

Price D. Finley (Project Finance Law; Public Finance Law)

James F. Flynn (Health Care Law)

Dane A. Gaschen (Education Law)

Susan E. Geary (Education Law)

Warren Grody (Education Law) NEW

Kara H. Herrnstein (Commercial Litigation)

Stephen Intihar (Real Estate Law)

David S. Jackson (Tax Law)

Marie-Joëlle C. Khouzam (Employment Law - Management; Labor Law - Management)

Greg Lestini (Administrative / Regulatory Law; Government Relations Practice; Insurance Law)

Quintin F. Lindsmith (Commercial Litigation; Litigation - Insurance)

Robert F. McCarthy (Public Finance Law)

Christopher L. McCloskey (Construction Law)

Charles H. McCreary III (Real Estate Law)

Frank L. Merrill (Litigation - Environmental)

Devin D. Parram (Energy Law; Energy Regulatory Law)

Rebecca C. Princehorn (Education Law; Public Finance Law)

Nelson M. Reid (Commercial Litigation)

Justin Ristau (Bankruptcy and Creditor Debtor Rights / Insolvency and Reorganization Law; Litigation - Bankruptcy; Mortgage Banking Foreclosure Law)

Jack Rosati, Jr. (Construction Law; Litigation - Construction)

Christine R. Schirra (Environmental Law; Litigation - Environmental)*

Anne Marie Sferra (Appellate Practice; Commercial Litigation)

Sommer L. Sheely (Commercial Litigation)

Douglas L. Shevelow (Construction Law)*

Diane M. Signoracci (Health Care Law)

Christopher N. Slagle (Administrative / Regulatory Law; Energy Regulatory Law; Government Relations Practice)

Bobbie S. Sprader (Litigation - Health Care; Medical Malpractice Law - Defendants)

Elisabeth A. Squeglia (Health Care Law)

Dane Stinson (Energy Law; Energy Regulatory Law)

Christopher N. Swank (Real Estate Law)

Dayton, OH

Janet K. Cooper (Education Law)

M. Shannon Martin (Economic Development Law; Real Estate Law)

Beverly A. Meyer (Education Law)

Fort Mitchell, KY

John J. Kropp (Commercial Litigation; Corporate Law)

Mark A. Ogle (Family Law)

Richard G. Schmalzl (Corporate Law; Mergers and Acquisitions Law; Securities / Capital Markets Law; Securities Regulation)


Ones to Watch

Cincinnati, OH

Vincent Boddy (Insurance Law; Litigation - Labor and Employment)

Christopher J. Groeschen (Mergers and Acquisitions Law)

Danyel P. Rickman (Administrative / Regulatory Law; Commercial Litigation; Land Use and Zoning Law)

Anthony R. Robertson (Commercial Litigation)

Columbus, OH

Christopher P. Gordon (Commercial Litigation)

Matthew R. Koppitch (Corporate Governance and Compliance Law; Government Relations Practice)

Rachael Mains (Administrative / Regulatory Law; Government Relations Practice; Insurance Law)

Casey L. Rieth (Commercial Litigation)

Matthew L. Strayer (Litigation - Construction)

Lebanon, OH

Brodi J. Conover (Appellate Practice; Commercial Litigation; Government Relations Practice)

*Denotes "Lawyer of the Year" Awards


First published in 1983, Best Lawyers (copyright 2017 by Woodward/White, Inc., of Aiken, SC) is universally regarded as the definitive guide to legal excellence and has been regarded as a respected and reliable source of legal referrals. Corporate Counsel magazine called Best Lawyers “the most respected referral list of attorneys in practice.” Attorneys are named to the Best Lawyers list following a peer-review survey of more than 55,000 leading attorneys across the nation who cast nearly 6.7 million votes on the legal abilities of other lawyers in their practice areas. Because Best Lawyers is broadly read and respected, inclusion in the list is considered a significant honor in the profession. Specifically, attorneys honored as “Lawyers of the Year” received particularly high survey ratings for their legal abilities, professionalism, and integrity.

Related Attorneys

Media Contact

Subscribe to Receive Updates
Jump to Page

Necessary Cookies

Necessary cookies enable core functionality such as security, network management, and accessibility. You may disable these by changing your browser settings, but this may affect how the website functions.

Analytical Cookies

Analytical cookies help us improve our website by collecting and reporting information on its usage. We access and process information from these cookies at an aggregate level.