Guide to state cybersecurity breach laws


Currently, 47 states have laws in place that require notification to affected individuals in the event of a cybersecurity breach involving personally identifiable information. In general, the laws define personally identifiable information and delineate who must comply as well as when and how they must do so. Fortunately, the National Conference of State Legislatures has a handy resource guide that lists (and provides links to) each of these laws for quick reference. See the guide.

Industries & Practices

Media Contact

Subscribe to Receive Updates
Jump to Page

Necessary Cookies

Necessary cookies enable core functionality such as security, network management, and accessibility. You may disable these by changing your browser settings, but this may affect how the website functions.

Analytical Cookies

Analytical cookies help us improve our website by collecting and reporting information on its usage. We access and process information from these cookies at an aggregate level.